Page 1 of 1

Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:07 pm
by shargash
When I try to run the script vgo_world.sql (rev 709), I get errors trying to insert data into two tables, on the INSERT INTO `spawn_location_name` and INSERT INTO `spawn_location_placements` statements. The error I get is:

Preparing...
Importing vgo_world.sql...
Finished executing script
ERROR 2013 (HY000) at line 636: Lost connection to MySQL server during query
Operation failed with exitcode 1

I get the same error whether I try to Run SQL Script... or Open SQL Script... and execute.

The two inserts that fail are huge. If I break them up manually into 4 insert statements each, they complete OK. I figure I'm having a memory issue, except that I have 16gb RAM and a 32GB paging file, which I would think would be enough. I'm running MySql Community Server v5.6. Is there something else I should be running?

Thanks

Re: Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Tue Oct 14, 2014 9:15 pm
by Lokked
The reason for this is that MySQL default install only allows a certain size of query to be run against it.

I thought I posted about this, but I can't find it.

Check this SO post out:
http://stackoverflow.com/questions/8062 ... acket-size

Your error is different than the OP, but this is the issue. Here is more information:
http://dev.mysql.com/doc/refman/5.0/en/ ... ction.html

Re: Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 2:45 am
by Blackstorm
Hi,

I always import through phpmyadmin with a POST var size at 25MB (the currently script size is aprox. 17MB) and have no error.
Maybe you need to increase the post var size too, or optimize your mysql settings to accept more requests size...

Re: Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 12:44 pm
by shargash
Thanks, guys. I'm pretty much a novice at db stuff, and I've never used MySql before. I did check the online help, but couldn't find anything that looked relevant.

Re: Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:05 pm
by Lokked
Find you my.ini file. There is also some command prompt line you can run to increase this limit, but I think it is just for that session (it will reset to default when next you run the MySQL process).

Re: Problems creating world database (rev 709)

Posted: Wed Oct 15, 2014 1:26 pm
by shargash
I changed max_allowed_packet=4M in the %programdata% version of my.ini to max_allowed_packet=32M, and the inserts executed fine. Thanks again!